Andrew Leon Hudson

Today’s featured author has a history with SFFWorld.com and the short story anthologies we put together. He even took over last year’s editing duties to produce Ecotones – Ecological Stories from the Border Between Science Fiction and Fantasy (it’s got award-winning authors in it – go read!).

But this year, he simply helped with story selection and when we begged, offered his own story.

Andrew Leon Hudson

What inspired you to write a story about a map?

I wasn’t, at first. I’ve recently read some great sf that had a strong focus on geo-political issues, but “maps” weren’t really on my radar until the anthology theme was announced. In the end I wrote two completely different map stories, and the one in YOU ARE HERE has inspired me to start some new stories in the same world. So it seems Maps have inspired me to write about other things.

Do you have a special place where you go to recharge your creative muse?

The answer is probably “bed”, I tend to tick over ideas while I’m waiting to fall asleep. For me the bigger challenge is to push aside distractions so I can actually write, so the “special places” for me are where I work. At the moment I hide myself in cafes or bars around my city and make sure I don’t have the WiFi password!

Can you tell us about a time when you wished you had a map?

I’ve rarely got lost, even before I had a smart phone in my pocket. I’m terrible with street names, but I’ve always had a good grasp of my general location: no matter how I arrived some strange part of my city, I can always walk straight home, even if I don’t know where a particular route will lead. However, I used to work a delivery job that meant I was driving all around Yorkshire, and sometimes the destinations seemed to magically slide away from where they were supposed to be…

 


Andrew Leon Hudson is an improper Englishman who writes, edits, designs and publishes books for people, himself included. If you’d like one, drop him a line sometime. He lives in Europe, and plans to spend as much time there as he can before the doors close once and for all. Visit andrewleonhudson.wordpress.com to learn more.


Buy You Are Here now and help out desperate animals. While at our low introductory price of $2.99, all proceeds will be donated to the Humane Society.

Available here:

Amazon US
Amazon UK
Amazon Canada
Smashwords
Barnes and Noble
Kobo
iTunes
Leave a Reply

